Self Portrait

There is a mirror in my bedroom.

It stands tall in the corner casting out its dark presence,

 filling the room with a smokey kind of fear

the kind you get lost in.

I  try to ignore its constant mocking

telling me to look in

to finally see the truth,

but I am afraid

afraid of which version of myself I might see once I look in.

 

Maybe I’ll see her,

This girl, she is happy she moves through life with the same carelessness of the wind

The world is in her grasp and she is ready to take it on.

She is  as free as the blue, cloudless sky seen only on a warm summer afternoon

She is the cool breeze that moves along with the tides.

She is the warm orange of the sunset.

 

   I hate her ignorance.

Maybe I’ll see her,

She is lost and has been for years.

Lost in the busy noise of the world she is unsure of her future

and as thoughts and questions an emotions cloud her head

 the ground beneath her becomes dizzy and all of the world becomes

 a whirl pool of noises and colour,

and suddenly it’s like someone turned off the lights and she’s drowning in a permanent kind of silence.

 

I hate her weakness.

Maybe I’ll see her,

Her hate rid for the world could bring the oceans up into flames .

She uses her tongue as a whip

Her words only spreading her fire into the world.

It is how she protects herself from the flames of others,

fighting fire with fire.

 

I hate her in-forgiveness.

 

In the end I am alone

with them fighting against each other to come out,

and when I look into that mirror I see them grinning back at me

my truths.

 

 

 

Reflection:

I feel really proud of myself for writing this post because for the past month or so I challenged myself to write more about myself instead of  just characters I made up. This poem was inspired by the elements writing that we did in class and also by the book I read this month The Picture of Dorian Gray. For the first “girl” I chose to represent with the air element and I feel that I made that really clear with the descriptions I gave. The second “girl” was earth, and the last was fire; I used these elements to convey the type of emotion I wanted to go with each “girl”. The wind element is supposed to convey freedom lightness so that is why I thought it would be fitting to use for the first “girl”. I chose earth because I believe it to be a very unstable and uncontrollable force so I chose it for the second “girl” because I wanted to really bring to light her unstable reality. For the last one I chose flames very obviously because fire is seen to convey anger and hatred. I also got the idea of the mirror from The Picture of Dorian Gray because of the idea that mirrors and pictures bring to light a persons true nature and soul and that it can change over time which is a recurring theme in that book.

 

 

 

 

 

Self Portrait Skin GIF by xavieralopez - Find & Share on GIPHY

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Self Portrait

  1. Dear Aliza,
    This is a great work of poetry, I really like how you were able to write about yourself as three different people. It is really cool. For suggestions, maybe just go over some common grammar and punctuation errors. Overall, this was a great piece. I look forward to reading more of your work.
    Love,
    Tolu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *